University of South Bohemia
  • Introduction
  • Programs
  • Videos
  • Contact

The University of South Bohemia is a public educational and research institution of the university type, with eight faculties offering a selection of tertiary education programmes.


University of South Bohemia is a state university, founded in 1991. It is located in the regional centre of South Bohemia, the town of Ceske Budejovice (population approx. 100 000), about 150 km south of Prague. The town was established in the thirteenth century as a “King’s town” by the Czech King Premysl Otakar II at the confluence of the rivers Vltava and Malše.

History and characteristics of the University of South Bohemia

USB is a research university focusing mainly on natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities. A significant aspect of the scientific research activities is close cooperation with the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. The university comprises eight faculties, which are located in the historical centre of the town and on the university campus on its western edge. The campus also comprises student residences, a Rector’s office and the buildings of the Biology Centre of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic.

Applicants for Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Doctoral degrees may choose from 220 majors with a range of further specializations. The study of 24 majors is conducted in English with 3 in German. All faculties and institutes provide PhD study programmes in chosen fields of study and the majority of them have the right to name professors and associate professors.

The university participates in the Erasmus+ programmes KA01 and KA02 and uses other grant programmes i.e. Aktion, EEA/Norway Funds, AIA – government scholarships, CEEPUS, DAAD, Visegrad Fund, Fulbright Commission, and other programmes concerning international cooperation in research, development and innovation. In 2007, the first cross-border common study programme, Biological Chemistry, was initiated with the Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria. 

Nowadays the university offers 9 double or joint degree programmes - 3 Bachelor´s and 6 Master´s. These programmes have been accredited at the Faculty of Philosophy, Economics and Science. The other Faculties (Education, Health and Social Sciences, Theology, Agriculture, Fisheries and Protection of Waters) have not yet accredited their double/joint degree programmes but at a number of them the accreditation process is already in progress. The university is the Local Contact Point for the EURAXESS Czech Services Centre: Researchers in Motion, which provides foreign scientists with help and advice for arranging stays in the Czech Republic.

The dormitories hold 2300 places. All rooms (mostly double rooms) are connected to the academic computer network and the Internet. The campus is located in a quiet part of the town and is also used for relaxation, cultural and social events. It includes a modern students’ club and cafeteria, which also has several branches in the town to cater for students with lectures there. You will find a lot of greenery, a sports ground, many benches, including the unique Václav Havel bench by the architect Borek Sipek. Sports facilities include gyms, an athletics stadium, and basketball, volleyball, and tennis courts. 

University of South Bohemia

Address Branišovská 1645/31A, ?eské Bud?jovice 2, 370 05 ?eské Bud?jovice, Czechia
Phone +420 389 032 191